logo 29erclass red

                                       logo 29er logo 29er

Williford & Waddell Take North American Title

NA20152015 29er NA Championships Final Report

Wade Waddell and Christopher Williford (L-R)       

Photo Copyright Jan Anderson 2015


 Full Results


After a full shut out (no wind) on Saturday, the fleet would have been happy to see just about any wind on Sunday morning. Early Sunday morning, the scene was bleak - no wind anywhere. But by the 10am First Warning, there was racable wind and it was soon was back to something resembling "Gorge" conditions - perhaps 15 knots.

From the racing concluded on Friday, the top 5 teams and their points (after the first discard) were:

Max Brill/Andrew Person - 13
Eric Lyall/Andrew Moreno - 13
Romain Screve/Quinn Wilson - 14
Christopher Williford/Wade Waddell - 16
Nicolas Muller/Ian MacDiarmid - 20

These teams have been sailing strong all season - so there was no knowing as to how this would play out - especially if enough races were completed to include the second discard race. As the day progressed, the teams of Nicolas Muller/Ian MacDiarmid (who "won the day") and Christopher Williford/Wade Waddell really stepped up their game while the top three teams slid down the ranks.

And with time to spare, the race committee completed 6 good races - bringing the race count to the full 12 races scheduled.

Nicolas Muller/Ian MacDiarmid "won the day" but Christopher Williford/Wade Waddell won the last race - leaving both teams (before throw outs) with 44 points each.

If no throw outs has been applied, Christopher and Wade would be the 2015 North American 29er Champions. After throw outs Christopher and Wade had a 2 point winning margin - making them the 2015 29er North American Champions. Congratulations!

2015 EuroCup


thumb 825x525 90 resize 2e66b4b6029270e6c58a659d6228bbf2thumb 825x525 90 resize fa4792e7225701d78a00dc28b97f261b

Next Up: Europeans & EuroCup #6 - Medemblik, NED

Gdynia, POL - EuroCup #5 (July 9-12) is done & dusted with Polands Mikolaj Staniul & Kajetan Jablonski winning the weekend.  Great photos by Robert Hajduk (see Int. 29er Facebook) for what looked like a windy event!  Full results here.

Kiel - EuroCup #4 (June 25-29) Congratulations to Peter Lin Janezic/Anze Podlogar (SLO) for a great event battleing it out with Crispin Beaumont/Tom Darling (GBR) until the last race! Full results here.


2015 Europeans


 BEL  FRA13 kite

Congratulations to Gwendal Nael & Pierre Tydgat -FRA as European Champions of the 29er Class!

Nael/Tydgat won the event with a 2-pt lead over GBR Crispin Beaumont & Tom Darling.  Taking the bronze were Daniel Nyborg & Sebastian Olsen of DEN.

Full results here

Follow along via the website

Janezic & Podlogar win EuroCup #3 - Dutch Youth Regatta

DYR photoCongratulations to Peter Lin Janezic/Anze Podlogar of SLO, winning the 51 boat fleet of 29ers at the Dutch Youth Regatta held in Workum, NED May 14-17.  Janezic/Podlogar finished 2-2 in the first two EuroCup events of the year and have a nice lead going into EuroCup #4, Kiel, June 25-28.  Second in Workum were Gwendal Nael/Pierre Tydgat (FRA) followed by Peter van Leijen/Richard Schuurmans (NED).  Top female team was Laerke graversen/Iben Niesby (DEN) in 14th.  The last 2 days of DYR had lots of breeze, giving a challenge for all with many choosing not so sail. Full results here.

Nyborg/Wright Olsen Win EuroCup #2 - Cavalaire, FRA

FRA winners

Daniel Nyborg and Sebastian Wright Olsen from Denmark won EuroCup #2  held in Cavalaire, FRA over the Easter weekend besting 93 teams from 15 nations.  Following just 5 points behind were Peter Lin Janezic and Anze Podlogar (SLO) and Gwendal Nael & Pierre Tydgat (FRA).  35 teams have sailed in the first 2 EuroCup events so far this year.  

Full results from France

Overall EuroCup standings

Next up: EuroCup #3, 14-17 May, Workum, NED.  The 2015 EuroCup schedule and links can be found on the Events page.

↑ Top