Youth World Championships

A little bit about the Youth Worlds...

The annual Youth Sailing World Championships is the pinnacle event for any youth sailing career. Selection is by individual country MNAs (Member National Authority). Only one boat per discipline is permitted (both male and female).   

The Youth Sailing World Championship was first held in Angelholm, Sweden in 1971 where 16 nations competed for the inaugural titles. Open to sailors aged 19 and under the 50th addition was held in 2021 in Oman. 

Many of our sailing sporting heroes have been notable winners including, American's Cup skippers, Chris Dickson (NZL), Russell Coutts (NZL), Dean Barker (NZL); Olympic medallists, Ben Ainslie (GBR), Robert Scheidt (BRA), Alessandra Sensini (ITA), Iain Percy (GBR), Pippa Wilson (GBR) and Elise Rechichi (AUS); Volvo Ocean Race sailors like Stuart Bannatyne (NZL) and Richard Clarke (CAN). The most successful Youth World Champions are Great Britain's Sally Cuthbert and Poland's Zofia Klepacka having won four successive titles in the Laser II and Mistral respectively.

Spain is the current holder of the Nations Trophy, awarded annually to the top performing nation at the Youth Worlds.  France is the most successful nation through the history of the Championship, winning the Nations Trophy on a record eleven occasions and holding a record 76 medals: 28 gold, 30 silver and 18 bronze.

The 2023 Youth Worlds recently concluded in Buzios, Brazil. For full results click here

The next edition in 2024 will be in Lake Garda in 2024.